Statuen von Dublin

The Famine Memorial in Dublin beside the River Liffey

Hunger-Denkmal

Wenn Sie einen Spaziergang entlang der Nordkai in Dublin machen, werden Sie von einem unheimlich tragischen Anblick begrüßt. 'Famine' von Rowan Gillespie besteht aus sechs müden und verhungerten Figuren, die sich widerwillig von ihrer Heimat Irland zu den Dublin Docks schleppen. Die sechs sind verhungert, ihre schockierend dünnen Rahmen sind fast von ihren zerlumpten Kleidern eingehüllt. Sie tragen alles, was sie besitzen, man trägt ein unterernährtes Kind. Ein Hund knurrt im Vordergrund und wartet darauf, dass der erste Reisende sein Ende findet.

DoDublin Tour Stop am Custom House Quay

james connolly statue

James Connolly Statue

Gegenüber der Liberty Hall, dem Treffpunkt der Führer des Aufstands von 1916, steht eine Bronzestatue des irischen sozialistischen Republikaners James Connolly. Er steht mit Würde da und schaut nach links, was seine politische Einstellung widerspiegelt. James Connolly gründete 1913 die irische Bürgerarmee, die im Aufstand von 1916 eine entscheidende Rolle spielte.

Während des Aufstands selbst, einer der Unterzeichner der Proklamation der irischen Republik, wurde Connolly in Dublin Castle inhaftiert. Obwohl der Aufstand zunächst wenig Unterstützung durch die Öffentlichkeit hatte, stießen die nachfolgenden Hinrichtungen der Führer sowohl in Irland als auch in den Vereinigten Staaten auf großes Mitgefühl. James Connolly, der zu verletzt war, um vor dem Exekutionskommando zu stehen, war an einen Stuhl gebunden. Dies widerte viele an, sogar in Großbritannien.

DoDublin Tour Stop in Busáras

phil lynott statue

Phil Lynott Statue

Direkt an der Grafton Street an der Südseite von Dublin können Sie die coolste Statue entdecken, die jemals hergestellt wurde. Da steht ein Mann aus Bronze, eine Bassgitarre zu seinen Füßen, mit Picks zwischen den Saiten. Phil Lynott wird von vielen Dublinern als die größte Rock'n'Roll-Ikone angesehen, die die Stadt jemals hervorgebracht hat. Er ist wahrscheinlich am bekanntesten für die Gründung der Band 'Thin Lizzy', in der er auch als Bassist und Sänger tätig war. Seine Songs, insbesondere "The Boys are Back in Town", "Dancing in the Moonlight" und "Whiskey in the Jar", haben Dublin und die Welt nachhaltig beeindruckt.

DoDublin Tour Stopp auf St. Stephen's Green

Oscar Wilde statue

Oscar-Wilde-Denkmal

Der Mann, der auf einem Felsen am Merrion Square in Dublin faulenzt, braucht kaum eine Einführung. Bekannt für seinen Witz, sein extravagantes Kleid und sein unglaubliches literarisches Talent, wird das Bildnis von Oscar Wilde von zwei Säulen flankiert, von denen eine seine schwangere Frau und die andere einen nackten männlichen Torso darstellt. Sein Mund ist halb breites Lächeln, halb Stirnrunzeln. Das Stück ist kontrastreich, was Wildes dichotome Persönlichkeit und sein Leben vermittelt.

DoDublin Tour Stop am Merrion Square

Statuen können oft unbemerkt bleiben, Figuren, die über uns stehen, eingefroren in der Zeit. Selbst wenn sie entdeckt werden, können Sie sich nicht sicher sein, wer oder was sie darstellen. Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen mehr, denn DoDublins Leitfaden zu den Statuen von Dublin gibt Ihnen einen Überblick über alle Statuen und Skulpturen der irischen Hauptstadt, von den berühmtesten bis zu den schwer fassbaren Figuren.

Buchen Sie Ihre Hop-on-Hop-off-Tour und sehen Sie sich Dublins berühmte Statuen an. Alle in der Nähe einer Hop-on-Hop-off-Tour!

X
This website uses cookies to improve your experience
Click to review our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy
I'm OK with this Cookie Settings ?

Statues of Dublin

The Famine Memorial in Dublin beside the River Liffey

Famine Memorial

If you take a stroll down the north side quays in Dublin, you will be greeted by a hauntingly tragic sight. ‘Famine’ by Rowan Gillespie consists of six weary and starved figures dragging themselves begrudgingly away from their native Ireland to the Dublin Docks. The six are in a starved state, their shockingly thin frames almost enshrouded by their ragged clothes. They carry all that they own, one carries a malnourished child. A dog snarls in the foreground, waiting for the first on the travellers to meet their end.

 

DoDublin Tour Stop 5

james connolly statue

James Connolly Statue

Across from Liberty Hall, meeting place of the leaders of the 1916 rising, stands a bronze statue of Irish Socialist Republican, James Connolly. He stands with dignity, looking over to the left, which mirrors his political mind set. James Connolly founded the Irish Citizen’s army in 1913 which played a crucial role in the Uprising of 1916.

 

During the rising itself, one of the signatories of the Proclamation of the Irish Republic, Connolly was imprisoned in Dublin Castle. Although the rising had at first little support from the public, the subsequent executions of the leaders garnered heavy sympathy in both Ireland and the United States. James Connolly, being too injured to stand in front of the firing squad was tied to a chair. This disgusted many, even in Britain.

 

DoDublin Tour Stop 4

phil lynott statue

Phil Lynott Statue

Just off Grafton Street on the Southside of Dublin, you may spot the coolest looking statue ever made. There stands a man made of bronze, a bass guitar at his feet, with picks placed in between the strings. Phil Lynott is regarded by many Dubliners to be the greatest rock and roll icon that the city has ever produced. He’s probably best known for founding the band ‘Thin Lizzy’ where he also served as bassist and lead vocalist. His songs, in particular ‘The Boys are Back in Town’, ‘Dancing in the Moonlight’ and ‘Whiskey in the Jar’, have made a lasting impression on both Dublin and the world.

 

DoDublin Tour stop 12

Oscar Wilde statue

Oscar Wilde Memorial

The man immortalised lounging on a rock in Dublin’s Merrion Square hardly needs an introduction. Known for his wit, flamboyant dress and incredible literary talent, the effigy of Oscar Wilde is flanked by two pillars, one depicting his pregnant wife, and the other a nude male torso. His mouth is half wide smile, half frown. The piece is full of contrast, which helps convey Wilde’s dichotomous personality and life.

 

DoDublin Tour Stop 10

Statues can often go unnoticed, figures who stand watching over us, frozen in time. Even when they are spotted, you can be at a loss as to who or what they depict. Well fear no more, as DoDublin’s guide to the statues of Dublin, is here to give you the low down on all the statues and sculptures of Ireland’s capital from the most famous figures to the more elusive.

 

Book your Hop on Hop off tour and see Dublin's renowned statues. All located close to a Hop on Hop off tour stop!

X
This website uses cookies to improve your experience
Click to review our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy
I'm OK with this Cookie Settings ?