The Custom House Visitor Centre
- Explore one of Ireland's most celebrated architectural gems
- Opened for the first time in 2022!
- Guided tour will reveal 200 years of history
- Learn of the Custom House's role in Ireland's revolutionary past
Visit the heritage ireland website for further information and to book.
The Custom House is perhaps the most iconic building in Dublin. Designed in 1791 by English Architect James Gandon, who also designed the Four Courts and Kings Inns in Dublin. It stands proudly on the north docks of the River Liffey, in the very heart of Dublin city centre.
From this commanding location the Custom House has witnessed the development of Dublin throughout the 1800’s and 1900’s as well as witnessing and surviving*, the revolutionary events that occurred during these times.
*This is despite having been burned down by the Irish Republican Army in 1921 during the Irish War of Independence; a conflict in which it played a particularly pivotal role.
The Custom House has now opened it’s doors to visitors, as Dublin’s newest and most exciting new attractions. Explore one of Ireland’s best loved architectural masterpieces in the company of knowledgeable and friendly guides who will take you back in time to reveal a story with many layers of people, heritage and history, spanning over 200 years. For more information and to book visit the Heritage Ireland website
Oprn Daily from 10:00 – 17:30
Last admission 16:45
Guided tours start at: 10:30am, 12:30pm, 2:30pm, and 4:30pm and last approximately 45 minutes.
For Enquiries Call: +353 (0)46 940 7140
Visit Heritageireland for more information and to book.
Custom House Quay